swimming in the soup
swimming in the soup
SITS 1x09 - Diving Deep with Maria Minnis
0:00
-1:03:07

SITS 1x09 - Diving Deep with Maria Minnis

on near-death experiences, new religious commitments & the Naked Tarot Newsletter

What’s up, swimmers? We’re continuing our January with another dazzling conversation that’s full of love, wonder and awe.

I’m in a personal 3 year—the Communicator—and for the last three and a half weeks, I’ve been deep in production for the audiobook of The Witch’s Book of Numbers. Quite fitting! It’s been quite the learning experience for me, both in terms of what I’d like to do differently the next time a project like this comes along, and also being up close and personal again with words that I wrote a year and a half ago.

Over and over again, I reiterate in the book that we’re always learning, always growing, and that everything, especially our beliefs and practices, are subject to change—mine included! But of course, as I read through, and listen back, and re-record, and listen again to all of those permission slips, I still couldn’t help but judge myself a teensy bit. I had so many personal practices that were strong when I was writing the book that I’ve since let slide, and I’ve engaged with so many expansive thoughts since that it’s a bit uncomfy to know that, even though I still stand by everything I’ve written, folks are out there reading something written by a slightly different version of me.

But then I had the joyful experience of connecting with Maria Minnis, whose own practices and systems of belief are ever-changing, yet with the intention that they all to bring her into deeper connection with her self, her community, and ultimately to the liberation work that has fueled and focused her life.


Thank you for reading swimming in the soup. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share


A more liberated planet is possible—I know it.

- Maria Minnis

Maria is a lifelong witch, enchanting the everyday. She’s a reader, writer, artist, ritual facilitator, and teacher with Southern roots, whose work centers everyday magic and holographic thinking in the context of social justice and liberation.

As she shares on her website: “Sparked by a Kundalini awakening after a near-death experience, her business and practice are inspired by voids, whale songs, Southern ritual, the moon, movement, experience, plant wisdom, and infinite interconnectedness.

I am unapologetically Black and wildly intent on living on purpose.

Clouds are my favorite thing.

- Maria Minnis


swimming in the soup is a reader-supported publication. To receive Monthly Numerological Forecasts, extra podcast episodes, additional perks, and to support my work, consider becoming a paid pal 💸


Last week, Maria had her second near-death experience. As you’ll hear, not only has she survived, but she is generously looking to harness this experience for her urgent, yet ongoing, work towards freedom for all.

I’m so incredibly grateful to be connected to Maria, and to have been able to share space with her at this incredibly liminal, yet potent moment in her life. Maria is infectious, thoughtful, full of grace and magic, and I just know that you’ll fall madly in love with her throughout this conversation.

Some of my favorite moments from this conversation include:

  • [on accepting that she has a body] "I'm hoping to get to the point where I don't see my body as a total burden, but as a gift; as a vessel that allows me to do liberation work in this physical, tangible world."

  • "How can I parallel lessons [from a near death experience] with lessons, and insights, and ideas, and plans and projects that can help other people feel alive? ...[T]o the point where you have enough space in your heart to find awe in your every day."

  • "And instead of reading [the Torah, or other holy text] and taking something so literally... or as solid truth, what about reading something and wondering how does this piece of text fit with the world you live in today? How does it fit with the person I am today?"

But there really are so many incredible invitations towards life and pleasure within. Let me know which moments stood out to you!

Leave a comment


If you’d like to connect with Maria, there are many different ways to do so! And be sure to watch out for her book, Tarot for the Hard Work, which comes out Fall 2023 from Weiser Books.

Send her a Message

Book a Consultation

Receive her Naked Tarot Newsletter

Read her Antiracism with the Tarot Blog


Until next time, just keep swimming!

xx, Rebecca


0 Comments
swimming in the soup
swimming in the soup
a little bit of this, a little bit of that. all things magical & mundane, spanning a plethora of topics like witchcraft, philosophy, spirituality, religion, pop culture, and more.