swimming in the soup
swimming in the soup
SITS 1x17 - Diving Deep with Kir Beaux
0:00
-1:19:19

SITS 1x17 - Diving Deep with Kir Beaux

on reclaiming queer magic, redefining our relationship with destabilization, and readying ourselves to receive what we say we want

What’s up, swimmers? Even though there are some heavy hitting planets still in Taurus, I hope that you’re having a gentle shift into Gemini season!

I shared this on Instagram the other day, but I wanted to expand on it here:

At the very beginning of 2023, a 7 year in numerology, I mused on the delineation between what is consider Public, Personal or Private information. I was also pretty deep in the throes of burnout—having spent the majority of the last 3 years chronically online, making multiple podcasts, teaching, speaking, and writing and marketing my book—all while navigating huge, wonderful, taxing changes in my present day life.

What’s transpired since then has honestly shocked me—I’ve said almost nothing publicly in months!

Yes, the blasphememes have continued on the ‘gram! And yes, if you’re reading this right now, then you know that I’ve still put out (almost) biweekly episodes of SITS. But while I have loved every single second of making this show and this offering, even in this space, I’ve engaged with other people’s stories, worldviews and perspectives.


Thank you for reading swimming in the soup. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share


For the most part, I have been leaning hard into the Private part of the 7 energy spectrum. I’ve also grappled with all of the pressures to perform / produce / pitch / plan The Next™️.

After all, what good is a writer who’s not writing??? What will happen to the proverbial momentum that’s been built after a huge thing like being published??? Who will I be if I’m not putting it on Instagram???

It’s been a hearty fucking challenge in taking my own advice: telling myself all of the things that I tell others about being human and separating Worth from Work. (Hey! That’s a good title for something…); believing that the majority of what we’re told about these artistic industries is bullshit; and releasing a shit ton of control around timelines and “progress” that I didn’t really even have in the first place.

I still don’t really know what the fuck I’m gonna say or do next! But there are inklings! Inspirations! Ideas! Quiet, but present, and begging me to stay the course until they (and I) am ready for further instructions.

I brought all of these thoughts and feelings and questions to my conversation with Kir Beaux, a truly magical friend and colleague that I can’t wait for you to get to know, and the last (for now) in a stellar group of spiritual folks that I’ve had the honor and pleasure of diving deep with.

In a couple of weeks, I’ll bring you my first solo episode since 2022 (!!!), but first:


Queer people are already primed for magic. They're primed for transformational work, because we've already done that big step of manifestation of seeing something inside of us, and working against everything to make it manifest in the real world, right?

- Kir Beaux

Kir Beaux (they/ them) [@itsqueermagic] is an Afro-Indigenous, Trans, Non-Binary Queer, psychic witch, and spiritual counselor. Born on a full moon in Long Beach, Ca they have always been close to the veil and now live their best life as one of its guardians.

A gifted channel, Kir offers Spirit channeling sessions, Spirit World journeying, and Spiritual support and education via It's Queer Magic. Kir is committed to connecting us all back to the source of our happiness, the original parent, our divine mother, the Earth. Heart-centered, open-minded, and an ever-changing Gemini, Kir is here to root you down and to help you fly. 

[Witchcraft] gave me a sense of my personal power. In this world, Black, indigenous, and queer people are told they have no power. So, to have something that gives me power and encourages me to use my voice and my will is invaluable.

- Kir Beaux


swimming in the soup is a reader-supported publication. To receive Monthly Numerological Forecasts, extra podcast episodes, additional perks, and to support my work, consider becoming a paid pal 💸


I’ve been following Kir Beaux’s work for many years now, and it’s been a total delight to experience and witness them expand and grow. They have such an ease about them, a warmth and a light, and their wisdom is just what I needed both when we recorded this conversation, and now, as I share it with you! I have really taken to heart all that they’ve shared about destabilization, and the mysteries of this human experience, and I hope that it reaches you too!

Some of my favorite moments include:

  • “Queer magic is a key that opens a thousand other doors... Queer magic is the ability-willingness-to investigate... and that changes lives. That's what it is: It's fertilizer, right? It's a portal. It's so many of those images of things that open roads, and moves out stagnant energy. It opens up a whole universe for you. It changes your glasses.”

  • “Ultimately, at the end of the day, difficulties, challenges, gifts, expansions... blessings - all of them are destabilizing energy... We have to relearn a new relationship with destabilization... We have been taught to fear the unknown, but simultaneously, we are called to the mystery."

  • [on preparing to receive what it is that we say we want] “It's about having a foundation, and part of that foundation is looking at: What is the basket I'm weaving to receive it? How can I make sure my fingers are closed and collected, so that this water doesn't fall through them?"

But there really are so many wise words within. Let me know which moments stood out to you!

Leave a comment


If you’d like to connect with Kir Beaux, there are many ways to do so!

Scope out their Site

Book them for a Reading

Watch their YouTube Channel

Join their Rainbow Witches Club


Until next time, just keep swimming!

xx, Rebecca

0 Comments
swimming in the soup
swimming in the soup
a little bit of this, a little bit of that. all things magical & mundane, spanning a plethora of topics like witchcraft, philosophy, spirituality, religion, pop culture, and more.