swimming in the soup
swimming in the soup
SITS Minisode: On Writing with Authority
0:00
-14:34

SITS Minisode: On Writing with Authority

walking the fine line between explaining and over-explaining

What’s up, swimmers?! Happy Friday! Happy Cancer Season! When crying becomes a competitive and communal activity… How are your eyeballs holding up so far?

The shift out of Gemini brought a last-minute burst of business (busy-ness, too!) for me, so this week’s episode is more of a minisode! It’s just under 15 minutes long, so I hope that you can find space for it in your day/weekend.


Thank you for reading swimming in the soup. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share


Today, I’m answering an additional question that came in a couple weeks ago through my Instagram DMs. Unfortunately, my Message Request folder is full of “Grand Risings” and people who have spoken with my ancestors or spirit guides — lucky them 😉 — so I don’t always see legitimate messages from folks I’d want to connect with. But I caught Sarah’s question and I’m answering it today as a little Part Two of the last episode.

Sarah asked:

How do you walk the fine line between inadvertently talking DOWN to readers and talking OVER their heads? I find myself thinking that certain info or ideas are *obvious* so I leave them out--and confuse people. Conversely, I fear that I sometimes explain TOO MUCH, which can feel insulting. Any advice for that?

I love love love this question, which I genuinely think boils down to our fearful editor brain sneaking in on the creative process… but check out my answer in full by clicking on the audio above, and then let me know if we should get jackets or jerseys for being members of Team Over-Explain!


Have you joined The Soup™ on Discord yet?!

Created and hosted by yours truly, I hope for this to be a friendly lil space where we can chat about all things magical and mundane, share tips, tricks and practices, be in supportive and like-hearted community, and whatever else!

Once you're in:

  • Please look over the Rules & Info channel, and click the green check mark emoji (✅) to gain access to all of the server channels.

  • Head to the Roles channel to select information about yourself like your pronouns, geographical region, DM status, zodiac sign, life path number, and more!  

  • Then, be sure to see The Directory for a full list of the channels available and their unique purposes.

There is a channel specifically for #1000wordsofsummer so that we can chat about the challenge, share snippets, and hype each other up; as well as a channel called Sprinting, which has a bot installed to help us run timed writing “sprints” where you can input beginning and ending word counts to help keep you on pace!


Start Swimming


Soon, the Discord Server will only be for paid pals 💸, but I wanted to give all my inbox buds the chance to join to help kick things off! So regardless of whether or not you’re joining the challenge, get your behinds in the server, okay? 🥳

**Please note that the link expires in 7 days! If you miss it, reach out for a new link!**


Until next time, just keep swimming!

xx, Rebecca

0 Comments
swimming in the soup
swimming in the soup
a little bit of this, a little bit of that. all things magical & mundane, spanning a plethora of topics like witchcraft, philosophy, spirituality, religion, pop culture, and more.